A Little Break, a Big Tree, and a Fat List of Resolutions

Have you ever had this impression of not being able to create anything right? I drafted two posts this week and none of them expressed what I wanted to say.

Being in a creative rut is usually a sign that I need a break. Nick and I are spent after two intense weeks of sorting out what we wanted to take to New Zealand and what we had to give/throw away, packing, sending out our forty boxes on a big boat, cleaning our flat up to Swiss standards (we had to clean the blinds, inside the windows, and the lady who came for the inspection checked inside the oven with her finger), and most difficult of all, saying goodbye to all our friends.

The tree has nothing to do with this post. Except it's winter, it's Christmas, and i love trees.

The tree has nothing to do with this post.

Luckily, I’m now with my family for Christmas time. My mum is taking good care of me, cooking and organising the house. I thought I’d have more time to write for my blog but my brain is still adjusting to not having a home anymore, and to the prospect of a long time before seeing my friends and family again.

In times like these, I’m more in the mood to write fiction. Creating another world and making good use of my imagination might unlock my non-fiction resources too. I’ve also noticed that the more I write, the more I want to write. So I’ll keep writing: I’m working on a children’s book with a friend, and I’d like to write short streams of consciousness everyday.

2012 has been a fantastic blogging year. I’ve met many interesting friends and followers. I loved reacting to your comments and commenting on your blogs. Thanks to everyone who kept following my adventures, and a special thanks to everyone who commented. It was not always easy to keep posting once a week. Sometimes I had no ideas, other times my posts never seemed ready to be published. But I’m proud of having done it, and to see how much my blog has grown compared to last year.

Trying to be Conscious will continue in New Zealand- someone’s gotta make fun of the Kiwis! I also want to start a blog in French. First, because I already feel like I’m losing my French: sometimes I need a moment to remember a word and it takes me more and more time to write an email in my mother tongue. I also want to keep my options open in journalism: I’ll have more job opportunities in Europe if I can also write well in French. My second blog will be the start to my French portfolio.

My list of resolutions for 2013 is already as fat as the turkey waiting in the fridge. And before I can start working on them, I need a break from blogging. So I will start posting and checking out your blogs again in January.

Until then, I wish you all the best for the end of the year, and may your lists of resolutions be as fat as mine!

 

You might also like:

No Blog is an Island

Just Sit Down And Write

28 thoughts on “A Little Break, a Big Tree, and a Fat List of Resolutions

  1. Your posts are always worth the wait, Cecile! Maybe I should learn French so I can read your other blog.

    Actually, I’ll probably read it, try to interpret it, and guess what it’s about in the comments. Sounds like a fun game, no?

    I love your tree caption, lol. It is a pretty tree.

    I can’t wait for more!!! Oh wait, I don’t have to, because I’m a post behind!

  2. I know what you mean here. I am on vacation this week and seeing family for the holidays. As a newbie blogger I am enjoying the community and people that I have net here. Enjoy your break!

  3. tres joli post : c’est interessant le lien que tu fais entre le fait de ne pas avoir de maison et l’ envie d’ecrire de la fiction.. Cela a ete un plaisir de decouvrir ton blog et de le suivre cette annee. je te souhaite pour la prochaine qu’il te permette de continuer a rencontrer plein de gens interessants ou que tu sois ! Bonnes fetes de fin d’annee. :)

  4. Yes, Cécile, take how much ever time you want. God, I understand how overwhelming everything is right now. I felt like that just once though. I’m sure you’ll follow through on every last resolution you make for the year 2013. It’s great that you could even form a coherent and well-written blog post in such unaccommodating circumstances. I’m so happy you got to spend time with family. You might not know what’s ahead and I know how that feels like, but the current Iris is laughing at my past self because I worried too much for nothing. You’ll smile when you look back in the future.

    Bonne Année!

    See you on the other side,
    Lots of love, hope, admiration,
    ~XOXO, Iris

  5. Bonnes fêtes ! J’ai hâte de lire ton blog français. Bon courage with your move! I look forward to follow your NZ discoveries and photos. (gorgeous tree pic, too!)

  6. Merry Christmas, Cécile! I hope you have a wonderful time with your family before heading off to New Zealand. I agree that we all need a little rest for our brains. Blogging, while very creative, is also somewhat formulaic. It’s good to leave room for other creative pursuits and take a break now and then to scribble and scrawl and think outside of the bloggy box. I think, with all of the change you’re experiencing, you deserve that break even more! And you’re going to have so many interesting things to write about in 2013–it’s going to be quite a year! I’m also looking forward to a week of rest and can’t wait to see what the new year brings. Bonne Année!

    • Yes, I need to think outside of the bloggy-box for a bit :-)
      Enjoy your rest as well, Rian. I’m sure resting will bring us many interesting ideas for new posts. Bonne année à toi aussi (and I hope that learning French is on your list of resolutions for 2013!)

  7. I hear (and feel) you. Sometimes blogging helps me to process my feelings; other times I need to have all my feelings processed before I can get down to blogging.
    At the moment I’m also in a kind of Christmas limbo: I’ve finished up in London, am staying with family over the holidays and come 2013 I will be thinking about finding work and dealing with PhD applications. It’s frustrating to my family and myself not knowing what’s coming next…but I will deal with it as it comes, I’m sure.
    Relax, be kind on yourself, enjoy getting spoilt by your family. We look forward to hearing about your 2013 adventures! :)

    • Thanks Claire, I’ll try. I was just checking your blog today and wanted to write something to you but even my comments don’t seem to come out right these days…
      I know how frustrating it is not knowing what’s coming next. But you’ll have answers soon, and I’m sure you’ll be able to ninja your way back to university in no time. For now, enjoy your family and a well-deserved break :-)

      • It’s the sentiment that counts. Not the precise wording. :) The awesome thing about blogging is finding a community of people whose experiences mirror my own, and learning just how many people that includes.

What do you think?

