My Wrinkles Psychosis

Among my many mental disorders, my Wrinkles Psychosis is probably the most laughable. I am 28. I started worrying about the degradation of my skin at about 25. That’s when I started taking care of my skin seriously. A girlfriend told me she’d read about a miracle product in Cosmopolitan: Advanced Night Repair.

“It’s a serum. If you put a few drops on your skin every morning and every evening, your skin won’t age. It’s really expensive but I think it’s worth it so I bought it and I am sure it will last me at least half a year.”

Now my friend isn’t dumb. She’s a literature teacher in high-school and all. But she still takes what Cosmo says at face value. And so did I. I say did because I stopped reading magazines when I realised most of it is written by PR agents to place their product.

“How much is it?”

“90 euros for 80 ml”

“No way I’m spending that much money for this!” A few weeks later, I bought it anyway. What’s 90 euros if your skin STOPS AGING? Despite being educated and intelligent, I really believed that applying this serum day and night would slow down the ageing process. And I know many women who believe the same about this product or another one. It’s always an expensive product that has loads of advertising everywhere.

A year later, I met another Wrinkle Psycho in New York City (aren’t all women Wrinkle Psychos a little bit?). She told me that she was really scared of getting wrinkles and therefore never frowned to avoid getting marks on her forehead. She was 22! At first, I made fun of her. But over time, I started noticing that women frowning a lot really had more marks. And frowning isn’t pretty anyway. So I gradually stopped frowning.

Now at almost 29, I can see that my skin changed really fast in my 28th year. While my forehead is still perfectly smooth, I look more tired in general and I have horrible, terrible, appalling LAUGH LINES (between the nose and the lips).

I stopped frowning but didn’t stop laughing. And the worst thing is that the line is deeper on one side than on the other because I smile in an asymmetrical way. I noticed them this year as they became visible even when I am not laughing. I started to check other women’s faces obsessively to see if they had laugh lines as well. Most of them do after a certain age and sometimes it makes them look sad, like droopy. How ironic.

What if I can never look happy again because of my laugh lines?!

I showed this post draft to Nick and he made fun of me. He said “I’m really disappointed in you for buying this bottle of expensive bullshit. Why do you obsess about your lines? Your face has this shape and it looks pretty. I don’t care if you get wrinkles, you’ll stay pretty.”

Then I told Andrew about it and he threatened to end our friendship if I ever got botox injections. However, he thinks it’s hilarious to undermine what little confidence I have: “And what about the wrinkles under your eyes, aren’t you worried about them?” He regularly makes fun of “the lack of expression” of my forehead and spent an entire Sunday morning making this picture of me looking old:

Andrew’s mischief

I know this post is going to come across as absolutely ludicrous to men. That’s because when men get wrinkles, it only makes them look more bad-ass and wiser! How unfair! I don’t know a single women who is not worried about her skin and ready to waste a lot of money on skincare products. Not reading magazines is definitely the first step to get out of this commercial nonsense. Then, talking about your wrinkles worries with men will probably help as well. Whatever you do, your skin will age so you’d better start accepting it.

You might also like:

How to lose weight without a diet

The Weight of Beauty

13 thoughts on “My Wrinkles Psychosis

  1. Pingback: Countdown to Success « Trying to be Conscious

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Best Tips For Reducing and Smoothing Wrinckles | Natural Skin Report

  3. I’m right there with you. I am also 28 and have been freaking out about wrinkles since I saw the first tiny little crease at 19. I have no idea how much I have spent over the years! I met a 50 year old woman who is always out in the sun, but looked great. I asked her what her secret was. There was no secret! She has never used any special wash or cream. I think no matter what we do, it all depends on genetics.

    • Yes. The annoying thing is that we all know that creams don’t work, no matter how expensive they are, but we keep on buying them just in case. And there’s no explanation for that.

  4. I understand everything you say. BUT I agree that it is the cosmetics companies that foster our insecurities and then sell us products that they claim will erase the problems.

    There’s a company I discovered, and I promise I have no financial gain in telling you this: a woman named Paula Beguin has worked for many years as a debunker of cosmetic companies’ claims. She has a website called “cosmetics cop.” She writes product by product and tells which are true claims and which are merely appealing to our insecurities. You will save tons of money if you can recognize the advertising lies and promises.

    But there is no cure from developing wrinkles.

    Ronnie

  5. Thanks Lorene, Peter and Nick for your insightful comments. Lorene I agree with you, men are partly responsible. They tend to be attracted to younger women and it is a bit scary to imagine your husband could easily dump you for a younger chick. However, I also agree with Nick: most guys are pretty happy at the thought of ageing together with their partner. And this is truly a beautiful thing to grow old together.

    Now about plastic surgery, I am not against it at all and I will use it if my face or hum my breasts are falling apart really badly at some point. Like you said, a double chin or big bags under the eyes can be removed pretty easily and it makes a difference. But some women really overdo it and it becomes a freak-show (botox, injections in the lips etc.) So one def. needs to be cautious about it.

    And Peter, yes, people still think that I am 22 or even less than 18 sometimes the cashier asks my ID when I want to buy alcohol (and it makes my day :-))

  6. Age is but a number…
    i remember many situations where you were asked if you passed the age of 16 years not so long ago.
    Worrying about age or look is an addiction like smoking, it is difficult to get around it.

  7. Also – Lorene, I don’t think it’s really men who cause the problem. Rather, I think the cosmetics industry portray it that way.

    Guys typical reaction is “€90? Are you freaking kidding me? That’s ridiculous. They’re going to happen anyway and they’re normal – not disgusting”.

    Cosmetic surgery to correct major deformities is ok with me, but people who get it to prevent aging inevitably end up in this battle of diminishing returns where they invest more and more to look worse and worse… and can’t stop because once you’ve had the surgery done once you can’t go back without it REALLY looking bad (like those disaster photos of people who had collagen treatment and then tried to stop).

    I’m sure there is some small segment of guys who are after hot young trophy wives, but I think the vast majority of guys are pretty happy getting old with their partners and accepting what comes with that. The pressure to have flawless skin comes from women, not men, and it’s caused by the cosmetic industry which preys on women. Follow the money.

    Guys end up being involved because “Use our cream or no guy will ever love you” is much more effective as a motivation than “Use our cream or I won’t be able to be insanely filthy rich anymore”.

  8. 2 things about your post (what a good French lawyer I am with my binary comment hahaha)

    1. if we have pbl with aging, it is both because of society that promotes younger and younger girls in adverts, AND because of a lot of men’s behaviour that dump their wives usually for younger women. I don’t think women are scared to age out of nothing, the reason is also because of men. but the opposite is also true. more and amore men go to the gym and work out too much because of the image they want to give to other females. and that’s disturbing too.

    2. there is no shame of getting rid of a physical pbl thanks to scientific progress (plastic surgery). the real question is how bad does the aging affect you. I know a lot of woman that had plastic surgery to look younger but a lot also is just to look healthy. even if aging is not a pbl and can also be appealling, skin that drops from your chin is discusting and could be removed just because the person looks sick (and that comment is mainly for men!). looking healthy is not a crime and people will be more inclined to be nice vs pitying you.

    PS if the creams/drops/lotions really worked, I think we would know about it from celebrities etc. but since they go on bottoxing and lifting their skin, I’m convinced that creams and lotions are useless expenses (for that only purpose of course)

  9. It’s all in your head! You are perfect and no one would think you are nearly 29(even though that is still young anyway)! Arrete ton char….!!! (Je dis ca mais je suis pareil….Il faut qu’on commence notre “support group”!) ;)

What do you think?

